District recognizes teachers of the year, distinguished retirees and first-ever Community Service Award recipients

Lake Travis ISD officials placed the spotlight on its 2016 teachers of the year, distinguished retires, and—for the first time—recipients of the district’s Community Service Award at a dinner held May 12 at the Sonesta Hotel.

“I appreciate that we take a moment to recognize those people who dedicate their life to education,” Lake Travis ISD superintendent Dr. Brad Lancaster said.

Teachers of the year are, pictured (left to right): Margit Hennessee, Bee Cave Elementary; Kailey Arrivo, West Cypress Hills Elementary; Katie Haedge, Serene Hills Elementary; Leslie Morton, Lakeway Elementary; Lori Paddock, Lake Pointe Elementary; Lea Bertsch, Lake Travis High School; Erin Russo, Lake Travis Middle School; Aaron Forgey, Lake Travis Elementary/District Elementary Teacher of the Year; and Dr. Lancaster.  Not pictured is Marcella Flannigan, Hudson Bend Middle School/District Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Officials also recognized several individuals who elected to retire from the school district this year including, pictured (left to right): Alfredo Altares, Transportation; Di Brophy, Lake Travis High School; Patty Cowan, Serene Hills Elementary; Carolyn Crouchet, Lake Pointe Elementary; Marcia England, Lakeway Elementary; Freddie Gilmore, Transportation; and Kay Penrod, Lake Travis High School.  Not pictured are Nathan Armstrong, LTMS; Lori Decker, LPE; Laura Gault, LTE; Robin Hartman, LTMS; Caryn Jannasch, HBMS; Rick Lightbown, Maintenance; Anna Moreno, LTE; Jim Ratcliff, Administration; and Judy Whitley, LPE.

Additionally, district officials lauded the work of three community volunteers with the inaugural Lake Travis ISD Community Service Awards.  

“The purpose of the Community Service Awards program is to recognize and celebrate volunteers, mentors and business partners who give their time, talents and resources to improve the educational experiences for students of the Lake Travis Independent School District,” Holly Morris-Kuentz said, Lake Travis ISD Assistant Superintendent for Human Capital and Community Services.  “The program is intended to increase awareness of the importance of parental and community involvement in LTISD.”

Sam Crowther was presented with the Mentor Me LT Award in recognition of his dedication to the spirit of mentoring, including regular visits and frequent contact with his students at multiple campuses, the quality of time spent, and the concern and enthusiasm with which he approached the mentor-student relationship.  In recognition of the quality time and extraordinary effort contributed towards improving the learning climate at multiple campuses, Suzanne Kelbaugh was honored with the LOVE (Leader in Outstanding Volunteer Efforts) for LT Award.  Shane Street, owner/operator of All Star Burger, was presented with the Most Valuable Partner (MVP) Award in recognition of his exceptional partnership which positively impacted numerous campuses and student programs across Lake Travis ISD.  Pictured (left to right) are: Shane Street, Suzanne Kelbaugh and Sam Crowther.

The event was sponsored by Sonesta Bee Cave and Austin Infiniti.