Lake Travis High School band students earn statewide music award

The following eight members of the Lake Travis High School Cavalier Band were recently honored as Texas Music Scholars for exhibiting outstanding qualities in scholastic merit, musicianship, and citizenship in their school and community during the 2015-2016 school year:   

  • Sreya Ayinala, 10th Grade, Alto Saxophone

  • Cameron Cotton, 12th Grade, Tuba

  • David Hellrung, 10th Grade, F Horn

  • Ally Morton, 11th Grade, Bb Clarinet

  • Alex Noaks, 12th Grade, Alto Saxophone

  • Emma Peterman, 11th Grade Bb Clarinet

  • Aly Ruiz, 11th Grade, Piccolo

  • Cameron Wolfe, 12th Grade, Tuba

The award is presented by the Texas Music Educators Association, sponsor of the Texas All-State bands, choirs and orchestras.  Last year, fewer than 2,300 students were named Texas Music Scholars.

Headquartered in Austin, TMEA is an association of over 12,000 music teachers whose goals are to support music education in Texas, provide professional growth opportunities for educators, foster public support for music in schools, and offer quality musical experiences for students.

Richard Hicks is Director of the Lake Travis High School Cavalier Band.