LTHS Students Earn National Recognition in Art & Writing Event

Lake Travis High School students Elliot Ward, Maddie Sutton and Sara Flinn are national award recipients of the 2017 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. 

Elliot Ward is the first LTISD student to win a coveted Scholastic Art and Writing National Gold Key for his highly-realistic pencil drawing of vintage cameras. As a Gold Key winner, Elliot and his art teacher, Amber Forgey, have the honor of attending the national award ceremony at Carnegie Hall in New York City on June 8. Elliot studied Art 1 with Laurie Carswell (formerly of LTHS) as a freshman, Advanced Drawing and Painting with Forgey as a sophomore, and AP Studio Art Drawing and Design Portfolios as a junior and senior also under Forgey.

"Elliot has worked diligently throughout his high school career to advance to this level of success," said Forgey. "He is a product of the highly successful, award-winning visual arts program at LTHS." 

Maddie won a National Silver Key for her sculpture. She is the first LTISD student to win a scholastic national silver medal for a 3D artwork.  Sara won a national silver medal for poetry and is the first LTISD student to win the award for writing.

The Scholastic Art & Writing Award is the nation’s longest-running and most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in grades 7–12. Within the awards’ 29 categories, which include poetry, photography, sculpture, humor, editorial cartoons, and video game design, a record-breaking 330,000 works of art and writing were submitted for adjudication at the regional level this year. Approximately 30,000 advanced to the national level, and 2,500 were selected to win a national award including Silver Key, Gold Key, National Gold Key Portfolio, National Silver Key with Distinction Portfolio, and a variety of individual category awards.  

The complete list of LTISD students competing at the national level for the 2017 season were:

Jowi Cordray
Maya Obregon, 2 artworks
Zachary Coldewey
Julia Ojeda
Madison Sutton, 3 artworks
Julia Wolfe
Kiara Dietze, 2 artworks
Kristin Ormsby
Lauren Paulson
Natasha Tiffany, 3 artworks
Hunter Tran
Elliot Ward, 2 artworks

Our wonder and amazement at the creative output of our country’s youth —and the dedication of our extraordinary educators—never ceases, and this year is no exception,
— Virginia McEnerney, Executive Director of the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers